My Earth Day Request: Cut the Anti-paper Greenwashing!

Phil Riebel’s Earth Day Request: Cut the Anti-paper Greenwashing!
Because “save a tree” requests are misleading. All products and services have pros and cons. Paper and electronics can co-exist, and in some cases, like the the mapping industry, when used together, increase function and value.

Two Sides

I am ticked off at my bank, utilities and telecom providers for saying “go green – go paperless.”

I’ve had it with my bank and all the other companies that are bashing paper products to promote electronic billing, statements and other e-services.  Yes…I’ve finally lost it.

I have decided to be diplomatic and not name you…but we all know who you are.millions

To my bank and other providers out there who are doing this:

You are damaging my livelihood and you are misleading people with greenwashing so that you can cut costs.  Please be honest.

I am your customer and I have spent the last 25 years of my life working in the forest and paper industry.  This industry has allowed me to lead a good life, raise a great family together with my wife, and provide a good education for my children.

I buy your products and services: banking…

View original post 575 more words

About hollybudd

I grew up on the Chesapeake Bay. I have a BS in Environmental Studies from Cook College, Rutgers University in New Brunswick, New Jersey. I returned to school for a MBA from Trinity DC. I am the president/CEO of Williams & Heintz Map Corporation, the family printing company that was started by my great grandfather.

Posted on April 22, 2013, in Sustainability and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

